About / Board of Commissioners

The Mid-America Port Commission is governed by a nine person board with three commissioners from each state. Two commissioners from each state are appointed by the county board chairs from their respective state and the other is appointed by the Governor of their state. Illinois Commissioners are appointed from the Mid-America Intermodal Authority Port District. Commissioners are allowed to serve two – six year terms.

Douglas H. Aeilts, Secretary/Treasurer

Missouri, Gubernatorial appointee

Mr. Aeilts is the CEO and General Manager of Northeast Missouri Electric Power Cooperative which is comprised of eight Member-Distribution Cooperatives with five located in northeast Missouri and three in southeast Iowa.

Stephen Bisenius, Chairman


Mr. Bisenius is the Director of Business Development for Lee County Economic Development group.

Blake Roderick


Mr. Roderick is Executive Director of the Pike and Scott County Farm Bureaus.

Norris Hinton


Mr. Hinton is a self employed farmer in Lewis County, Missouri. He currently serves on the Lewis County Rural Electric Cooperative board of directors.

Gerald Jenkins

Illinois, Gubernatorial appointee

Mr. Jenkins is the General Manager of Ursa Farmers Cooperative with two river terminals in Illinois and one under construction in Canton, MO. The Cooperative also operates a commercial ferry between Canton, MO, and Meyer, IL.

Mike McLaughlin, Vice Chairman


Mr. McLaughlin is an employee of Neece Office Equipment in Quincy, IL. He is also Adams County Board Vice Chairman. He has been actively involved in infrastructure development for the Adams County, Illinois, port site.

Gordon Spilker


Mr. Spilker is a self-employed farmer in Hannibal, Missouri. He is the Vice President of Northeast Missouri Grain Processors, Inc., President of Northeast Missouri Development Authority, and serves on the Missouri Agricultural and Small Business Development Authority.

Dan Wiedemeier

Iowa, Gubernatorial appointee

Mr. Wiedemeier is a Commissioner of the Southeast Iowa Regional Airport Authority, Vice Chair of the Great River Health Systems, and was appointed in 2011 to Iowa Governor Branstad’s Transportation 2020 Citizen Advisory Commission.