About / Illinois District

The Illinois District of the Mid-America Intermodal Authority Port maintains and owns the property chosen by the tri-state commission for the first proposed Port site in the South Quincy Development District.

Board of Directors

The Mid-America Intermodal Authority Port District is governed by a seven-member Board of Directors. Board members were first elected in 1999. Four members are appointed by the county board chairmen of the eleven Illinois counties in the District which include: Adams, Brown, Cass, Hancock, Henderson, Mercer, Morgan, Pike, Schuyler, Scott and Warren.

Three board members are appointed by the governor. County appointees are then approved by the governor and gubernatorial appointees are approved by the county board chairmen. Board members serve 5-year terms (unless filling an unexpired term).

H.O. Brownback, Vice Chairman

Cass County, Gubernatorial appointee

Mr. Brownback is the Vice President at Southwester Illinois College. He previously served two, five-year terms on the Illinois Port District Board as a county board appointee.

Max Edlen

Scott County

Mr. Edlen is a retired educator and former Chairman of the Scott County Board.

Donald P. Griffiths, Jr.

Hancock County

Mr. Griffiths is the former owner of Colusa Elevator Company with terminals in Illinois and Iowa.

Charles “David” Hood, Jr.

Schuyler County, Gubernatorial appointee

Mr. Hood is a retired Lockmaster with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

Gerald Jenkins

Adams County, Gubernatorial appointee

Mr. Jenkins is the General Manager of Ursa Farmers Cooperative with two river terminals in Illinois and one under construction in Canton, MO. The Cooperative also operates a commercial ferry between Canton, MO, and Meyer, IL.

Mike McLaughlin, Chair

Adams County

Mr. McLaughlin is an employee of Neece Office Equipment in Quincy, IL. He is also Adams County Board Vice Chairman. He has been actively involved in infrastructure development for the Adams County, Illinois, port site.

Blake Roderick

Pike County

Mr. Roderick is the Executive Director of the Pike County and Scott County Farm Bureaus. He represents agri-businesses using both the Illinois and Mississippi Rivers for import/export.


Please click on the links below to download PDFs of the minutes for the Illinois District of the Mid-America Intermodal Authority Port.